Law

Covering all areas of communications law, this database is being progressively updated with new commentary on telecommunications. It is written in plain language by expert authors who provide practical and detailed analysis of the laws regulating the industry, providing legislation and government documents as well as research material in the form of guidelines, policy statements and codes of practice.

Copyright and Designs includes all of the relevant Australian legislation, as well as commentary on the legislation. Content includes full-text copies of the Copyright Act and Regulations; the Public Lending Right Act, Designs Act and Regulations; international conventions and information on legislative developments.

Contains a collection of resources for U.S. intellectual property such as the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, books, periodicals, legislative histories, federal agency decisions, CFR title 37, scholarly articles, and U.S. Code Title 17 & 35.

A vital source of precedents for intellectual property cases. The decisions reported are from IP Australia and superior courts and tribunals in Australia, the UK, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore, Malaysia, the USA and Canada. Contents include: copyright; patents; trademarks; designs; confidential information; passing off; unfair competition and trade practice.

This service is compiled by expert practitioners and is regularly updated to include detailed discussion of recent case law. It includes regular bulletins which provide vital information on legislative amendments, recent decisions, proclamations and policy developments.

SNIPER provides information relating to IP Australia's core business areas, namely patents, trade marks and designs. SNIPER also includes other topics that impact on IP Australia's business, especially related intellectual property matters such as copyright, plant breeder's rights and domain names. These related matters are included if they relate to significant Australian or international trends and developments, or if they are significant to the field of intellectual property as a whole. NOTE: Coverage - 2000 to present.

As part of IP Australia’s open data initiatives, the SNIPER intellectual property database is now available for public use. SNIPER (which stands for Searchable Networked Intellectual Property Electronic Resource) is available via IP Australia’s EBCO Discovery Service platform. The database currently contains just over 30,000 records for journal articles, reports, working papers and other materials relating to intellectual property, both from Australia and internationally. New content is added weekly.
Please note that for copyright reasons, IP Australia is unable to make SNIPER Full Text directly available. To obtain the full text of items listed in SNIPER, please contact the library for assistance with inter-library loans.

Administers rights and collects/distributes payments for copyrighted materials.

This is a digital archive of primary sources on copyright from the invention of the printing press (c. 1450) to the Berne Convention (1886) and beyond. These include privileges, statutes, judicial decisions, contracts and materials relating to legislative history, but also contemporary letters, essays, treatises and artifacts from Italy, Germany, France, Britain and the United States, in Italian, German, French, English and Latin.

Libguide to finding patents using State Library of Victoria website.

General resources for IP related material.