Law

Amnesty International is a global movement of more than 3 million supporters, members and activists in over 150 countries and territories who campaign to end grave abuses of human rights.

The department provides legal and policy information on domestic human rights matters.

Includes full text of Federal equal opportunity legislation; State equal opportunity legislation; NZ equal opportunity legislation; Australian & NZ equal opportunity commentary; and Equal opportunity cases.

The Australian Human Rights Institute is an inter-disciplinary research and teaching institute based in the Faculty of Law at the University of New South Wales (UNSW).

The Australian Human Rights Commission is the nation’s independent human rights body.

This library includes databases of Australian Human Rights law available on AustLII.

This database contains reports of Australian Parliamentary Joint Committee on Human Rights. More information can be found on the Committee website.

The committee's main function is to examine bills and legislation (including delegated legislation) for compatibility with international human rights standards.

Based in the Faculty of Law at Monash University.

This page provides links to law resources related to civil and human rights.

Australia: seeking human rights for all.

The Queensland government has responsibilities for human rights and in 1991 the Queensland Parliament enacted the Anti-Discrimination Act 1991.

This briefing provides an overview of important human rights issues for Commonwealth policy development and decision-making. It begins by focusing on the recent Human Rights (Parliamentary Scrutiny) Act 2011 (Human Rights Scrutiny Act) but then considers the broader human rights context within which that Act operates, and within which Commonwealth ministers, office holders, public servants and lawyers work. AGS "Legal Briefing", No. 100, 20 August 2013.

A new resource (video) from the Castan Centre for Human Rights Law at Monash University. Click on the "VIDEOS" link from the home page.

Scroll down page for International Human Rights link.

An initiative to facilitate the dissemination of information regarding the implementation of the UN Convention against Transnational Organized Crime and specifically the Protocol to Prevent, Suppress and Punish Trafficking in Persons, Especially Women and Children.

Published October 2014.

The Reports of Judgments and Decisions (cited in the case-law as ECHR and available in Hudoc under the importance level ‘Case Reports’) is an official collection of the Court's leading judgments, decisions and advisory opinions since 1998.

This database contains the full text decisions of the Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission from 1985 - 2001 as selected by the Commission.

An Online Human Rights Archive via The Avalon Project.

UN Refugee Agency. Case Law includes national and international jurisprudential decisions. Administrative bodies and tribunals are included.

Here you will find laws and standards significant for children's rights around the world, including summaries of court cases. You can find decisions by domestic, regional and international courts and by complaints mechanisms. To find cases that explicitly cite the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC), search "CRC in court articles".