Law

The Encyclopaedic Australian Legal Dictionary database contains about 20,000 terms and is the first genuinely comprehensive Australian legal dictionary. Definitions are presented in an Australian context and supported by Australian legislative and judicial authority, wherever it exists.

This database provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined in legislation or judicially interpreted. It includes details of where the word or phrase has been defined and often the context in which the term is defined.

From the Thomson Reuters Westlaw home page, select Secondary Sources, then Black's Law Dictionary.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia comprises a narrative statement of the law of Australia covering virtually every subject area and all nine jurisdictions.

Laws of Australia is an Australian leading legal encyclopedia with comprehensive coverage of all aspects of the legal processes and practices in Australia.

Via netLibrary.

Oxford reference Legal Dictionary.

Six legal systems – civil law, common law, customary law, Muslim law and mixed systems – are briefly described, and the world’s “political entities” (mostly countries) are listed and classified according to the system under which they operate. The site is created by JuriGlobe, a research group formed by professors from the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa.

Classification of legal systems and corresponding political entities - Alphabetical Index of the Political Entities and Corresponding Legal Systems.