Library guides: Law: Public International Law

Public International Law

Databases

Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
Collected courses of the Hague Academy of International Law that covers Public International Law, Human Rights, Humanitarian Law and International Relations.
Foreign & international law resources database (Via HeinOnline)
FILRD contains full-text international law publications, including prominent Yearbooks from around the world and proceedings of the American Society of International Law. Also contains U.S. law digests on international law and judicial decisions of the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice.
History of International Law (Via HeinOnline)
Searchable database which offers access to more than 500 titles and 550,000 pages, and is updated frequently, dating back to 1690 on international law subjects such as war & peace, the Nuremberg Trials, law of the sea, international arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more.

Making of modern law : Legal treatises 1800-1926 (Gale Primary Sources)
Originally derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections. Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926.
Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history, including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.

The Oxford Handbook of the Sources of International Law
The question of the sources of international law inevitably raises some well-known scholarly controversies: where do the rules of international law come from? This book explores the various facets of the sources of international law. It provides a systematic overview of the key issues and debates around the sources of international law.

Oxford Public International Law
Access a comprehensive range of international law resources, including ebooks and case reports on international courts and tribunals.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw
Provides access to cases, legislation, journals, books online, and news. Also includes some international primary and secondary material.

Journals

Kluwer Law Online Journals
This international journal library includes Common market law review, European business law review, European foreign affairs law review, European public law, European review of private law, International journal of comparative labour law and industrial relations, Journal of international arbitration, Journal of world trade, Legal issues of economic integration, World competition, and European environmental law review.

World Journals (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)
Available from the Thomson Reuters Westlaw platform, World Journals contains articles from law reviews and bar journals published in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries around the world. Coverage varies by publication.

Online texts

Books & eBooks
eBook databases; How to download eBooks; Law eBooks; Search the library catalogue

Research Guides and Open Access Databases

ASIL
The mission of the American Society of International Law (ASIL) is to foster the study of international law and to promote the establishment and maintenance of international relations on the basis of law and justice. Check ASIL's Resources/Publication's page for resources.
Electronic Resource Guide - ERG
Designed to be used by students, teachers, practitioners, and researchers as a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law. NOTE CURRENCY DATES OF THE CONTENTS.
Foreign Law Research Guides (Library of Congress)
Law Library of Congress has prepared individual guides for a selection of countries. Each country’s guide includes an introduction to the legal system, official sources of law, print resources, and web resources.
GlobaLex
GlobaLex is an international and foreign law research publication, produced by NYU School of Law. The site maintains guides to international, foreign, and comparative law research, with regular updates to its guides as well as articles. Check for guides to individual country's laws and legal systems.
International Law: 100 Ways it Shapes our Lives
This project was conceived from the proposition that international law not only exists but also penetrates more deeply and broadly into everyday life than is generally recognized. One-hundred examples of this fact were identified by ASIL members, vetted by a small group of experts, and organized into seven chapters: daily life, leisure, travel, commerce, health and the environment, personal liberty, and public safety and security. This list has proved a useful education tool for non-expert audiences, from students and the public to judges and policymakers.
International Legal Research Tutorial
This tutorial is designed to teach students research strategies and methodology for researching both print and electronic sources of international legal materials.
Introduction to Public International Law Research (GlobaLex)
Published June 2016.
Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law
Research tools including documentation of articles in Public and Comparative Law.
Peace Palace Library Research Guides
These Research Guides introduce the researcher to the main topics of international law, both public and private. Besides providing a brief introduction, the guides also suggest certain books, articles, databases and other materials considered indispensable. All these materials are available in the Peace Palace Library. Taken together, the topics of the Research Guides also reflect our collection profile.
refworld
Country information, legal information and policy and reference documents.
WorldLII International Law Library
The most comprehensive free access international law research infrastructure on the Internet. It has 76 databases, containing nearly 100,000 searchable documents and includes both the International Treaties Collection and the International Courts and Tribunals Collection.
International Trade Law Research Guide (Georgetown University)
This guide by Georgetown University Law Library features resources on international trade law.

International Courts and Tribunals

International Criminal Court
The International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity. Access to Situations and Cases as well as a Resource Library.
International Court of Justice
The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). The Court may entertain two types of cases: legal disputes between States submitted to it by them (contentious cases) and requests for advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by United Nations organs and specialized agencies (advisory proceedings).
United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library - Courts & Tribunals
There are a wide variety of international courts and tribunals that have varying degrees of relation to the UN. These range from the ICJ, which is a principal organ of the organization; to the ad hoc criminal tribunals established by the Security Council; to the ICC and ITLOS, which were established by conventions drafted within the UN but which are now independent entities with special cooperation agreements. Other international courts may be completely independent of the UN.
United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) is a United Nations court of law dealing with war crimes that took place during the conflicts in the Balkans in the 1990’s. Includes selected documents and cases.
United Nations | Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals - Case Law Database
The Case Law Database (CLD) is a search tool that provides access to precedent-setting case law of the Appeals Chambers of the ICTR, the ICTY, and the MICT. The CLD contains extracts of key appeal judgments and decisions, which have been curated to facilitate legal research. It also provides access to the full-text versions of the corresponding appeal judgments and decisions.

SSRN

Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law & International Law (MPIL) Joins Law Research Centers Papers
Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law & International Law (MPIL) has started a Law Research Centers Papers series within the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN).
Papers in the series consist of work that has either been submitted for publication to a recognized professional journal (pre-prints) or accepted by such a journal, but not yet published (post-prints). They can be downloaded from the MPIL's own website (http://www.mpil.de/de/pub/publikationen/mpil-research-paper-series.cfm) as well as from the Social Science Research Network's online platform (http://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/JELJOUR_Results.cfm?form_name=journalbrowse&journal_id=2765113).

Customary International Law

International Committee of the Red Cross
Customary international law is made up of rules that come from "a general practice accepted as law" and that exist independent of treaty law. Customary international humanitarian law (IHL) is of crucial importance in today’s armed conflicts because it fills gaps left by treaty law in both international and non-international conflicts and so strengthens the protection offered to victims.
Customary International Humanitarian Law Database
The Study on customary international humanitarian law conducted by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and originally published by Cambridge University Press.
Public International Law Research - A Brief Guide
Advice on Researching Customary Law