The Australian Family Law Service contains the Family Law Act, Rules and Regulations with detailed commentary for interpretation. Also included are practice directions, forms and bulletins for alerts to proposed legislative change and recent case law. Note: The database is listed under the category "Family" in the Butterworths database menu.
The Australian Family Law State Legislation database covers those areas of family law that are legislated by the states and territories rather than the Commonwealth. Content includes information on adoption, child welfare, de facto relationships, domestic violence, family provision, guardianship and custody, status of children, and related state legislation.
A useful and convenient research tool for practitioners of family law and providing the complete coverage of reports relating to family law from 1976 to present, this database is a valuable point of reference to ensure accurate and thorough research.
See Chapter 205 'Family Law'. This title states the law concerning the jurisdiction of the Family Court, marriage, the legal consequences of marriage, matrimonial causes and principal relief, children, adoption, financial agreements between spouses, maintenance, property rights arising from marital and non-marital relationships, injunctions available in family law matters, registration of births, deaths and marriages, enforcement of decrees made under the (CTH) Family Law Act 1975 and protection available to targets of domestic violence.
Data collections cover three topics:
• Applications for domestic violence protection orders (DVOs) lodged
• DVOs made
• Criminal charges lodged relating to DFV
Figures are provided for larger court locations as well as statewide totals.