Native Title
Australian journal databases
- Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT) (Informit)
Covers Australia's political, economic and social affairs. Topics include current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
- Indigenous Australia (via Informit)Represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library and covers Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies, Stolen generation, removal of children, Arts, copyright issues, Racism, discrimination, Internet and telecommunications facilities and Communities. NOTE: Coverage - 1968 to December 2002.
- Australian Indigenous Law Library (AustLII)This library includes databases of Australian Indigenous law available on AustLII.
- Indigenous Studies Bibliography (via Informit)Covers published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies. NOTE: Coverage - 1990 to present.
Australian native title journals and publications
- Australian indigenous law reviewPublished by University of New South Wales, Indigenous Law Centre and available from 2007 to present.
- Social justice and native title report (Australian Human Rights Commission)Publications - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice.
- Land, rights, laws. Issues paper : issues of native title (AGIS Plus Text)Published by Native Title Research Unit, Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies.
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander StudiesResearch Reports via Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO).
- Connection to Country: Review of the Native Title Act 1993 (Cth) (ALRC Report 126)This Report marks the first major review of the law governing ‘connection’ in native title claims since the introduction of the Native Title Act 1993 (Cth). It also examines authorisation of persons bringing claims and joinder of parties to a native title claim.
Australian caselaw and case citators
- National Native Title Tribunal of Australia (AustLII)Full-text decisions from 1994 onwards.
- CaseBase Cases (via LexisNexis)CaseBase is a comprehensive case citator and annotator covering more than 60 Australian and overseas report series and the unreported decisions of the High Court, the Federal Court, the Supreme Courts of all Australian States and Territories, the Family Court, the NSW Land and Environment Court, the Cth Administrative Appeals Tribunal, the Federal Magistrates Court, and other selected jurisdictions.
- Cases (via Westlaw AU)Cases is the latest case discovery tool from Westlaw.
Key Australian web resources
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice (Australian Human Rights Commission)The AHRC's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice site includes reports and publications including Native Title.
- Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander StudiesThe Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) is a world-renowned research, collections and publishing organisation.
- Indigenous Law Centre (UNSW Law)The Indigenous Law Centre (ILC) was established in 1981 and is the only Indigenous law research centre in Australia.
- National Native Title TribunalThe NNTT is an independent agency established by the Native Title Act 1993 (Cth) to make decisions, conduct inquiries, reviews and mediations, and assist various parties with native title applications, and Indigenous land use agreements.
- Native title and Indigenous lands (Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy)Includes information about making claims and the procedures and requirements associated with Native Title and the Department.
- Native Title Infobase (Federal Court of Australia)This database contains Australian material relating to native title and land claims including journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, reports and press clippings. This collection began in the 1990s, although some material dates back to 1839. It also includes selected material from other jurisdictions including New Zealand, the United States, Canada, Africa and Asia.
- Native Title National Practice Area (NPA)Under the Native Title Act, the Federal Court of Australia is responsible for the management and determination of all applications relating to native title in Australia.
International legal encyclopaedias
- International legal encyclopaedias (via Law Guide - Griffith University)Links to American and Canadian legal encyclopaedias.
International journal databases
- World Journals (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)Available from the Thomson Reuters Westlaw platform, World Journals contains articles from law reviews and bar journals published in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and other countries around the world. Coverage varies by publication.
- HeinOnline
Provides access to law journals, treaties, legal classics and trials from the United States.
- LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
Provides coverage (from 1980) to legal publications including law reviews, legal newspapers, speciality publications, and bar association journals.
- JSTOR
Full text journals, books, images, and primary sources from the humanities, social sciences and life sciences.
International research guides and resources
- Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS)CWIS are a global community of activist scholars advancing the rights of indigenous peoples through the application of traditional knowledge worldwide.
- IWGIAInternational Work Group for Indigenous Affairs - is a global human rights organisation dedicated to promoting, protecting and defending indigenous peoples’ rights.
- Research Guide on Indigenous Peoples International Law (via GlobaLex)This research guide is designed to provide a foundation for researching indigenous international law by covering the definition of “indigenous peoples”, a brief history, key terms and issues, regional and international organizations including the United Nations, international documentation such as treaties, selected books and articles, online sources, and research guides.
- United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous PeoplesThe United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) was adopted by the General Assembly on Thursday, 13 September 2007.
Native American law resources
- American Indian Law Deskbook (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)American Indian Law Deskbook American Indian Law Deskbook is a concise, direct, and easy-to-understand handbook on Indian law. The Deskbook provides readers with the necessary historical and legal framework to understand the complexities faced by states, Indian tribes, and the federal government in Indian country.
- American Indian Law Review (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)The American Indian Law Review serves as a nationwide scholarly forum for analysis of developments in legal issues pertaining to Native Americans and indigenous peoples worldwide.
- Environmental Law in Indian Country (Thomson Reuters Westlaw)Offering in-depth tribal caselaw analysis, Environmental Law in Indian Country focuses on the environmental work of the 562 Indian tribes that play an important role in the environmental arena.
- Indigenous Law Resources: United States (Library of Congress)The Indigenous Law Resourcespage is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information and is prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division.
To access Native American law resources on Thomson Reuters Westlaw, type the publication title into the search box on the homepage. Click on the title's link in the drop down menu.
Canadian law resources
- Foreign and Comparative Law - Canada (via the Law Guide - Griffith University)The Canada law guide provides links to research databases for caselaw, legislation and commentary.
- Law reform Commission - CanadaCeased operations December 2006. Publications of the LCC are available on the website of the Library and Archives of Canada.
- CanLII - Canadian Legal Information InstituteThis website provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.
- RefLexRefLex is CanLII's citator. It automatically processes citations to decisions and legislative materials in order to make numerous enhancements to CanLII's content, thus improving navigation and research on the website. RefLex abides by CanLII's philosophy of extensive, but conservative reliance on technology. As a result, users may notice that, in some instances, the product favours accuracy over completeness.
New Zealand law resources
- New Zealand Legal Information Institute (NZLII)NZLII provides free access to New Zealand legal information.
- Maori legal resources (Victoria University of Wellington)The Victoria University of Wellington’s law subject guide offers a selection of Māori legal resources.
- AlterNative : an international journal of indigenous scholarshipA quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga, New Zealand's Indigenous Centre of Research Excellence (University of Auckland).
- Foreign and Comparative Law - New Zealand (via Law Guide - Griffith University)Caselaw, legislation and government information.
Media
- Koori mailOnline as well as available in hard copy at South Bank, Mt Gravatt and Nathan campus libraries.
- INFOKOORI
Index to the national newspaper, Koori Mail (1991-2016) which focuses on Indigenous Australians. also indexes biographical information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples from the magazines: Our Aim (1907-1961), Dawn (1952-1969), New Dawn (1970-1975) and Identity (1971-1982).
