Law

Current compilation.

The Parliament of Australia

The National Archives holds many records documenting the creation and evolution of the Australian Constitution. The collection also includes a rich store of other material relating to Federation.

This web site provides access to the following documents: Debates and Proceedings of the Australasian Federation Conference, Melbourne, 6-14 February, 1890; Debates of the National Australasian Convention, Sydney, 2 March–9 April 1891; Debates of the Australasian Federal Convention of 1897/8 in three sessions.

Digitised papers of Sir Edmund Barton (on Barton Papers, National Library of Australia)

This Library includes databases of the Australasian Legal History Libraries.

Via GlobaLex. Foreign Law: Subject Law Collections on the Web

Contains the current constitution for every country, constitutional histories, texts on constitutional law, links to scholarly articles about constitutional development, and a bibliography of selected constitutional books. Browsable by country or resource.

Provides access to national constitutions where available

Changes in the conception of the Australian court system occurred in parallel with fundamental shifts in the creation, formulation and discernment of national identity. Susan Kenny. 28 June 2015. Melbourne University Law Review.

This paper argues that the driving motivation for federalism reform in Australia should be to enhance Australian federal democracy, and sets out ten principles to guide federal democratic reform. Cheryl Saunders, Michael Crommelin. 5 June 2015. Melbourne Law School

This discussion paper, to prepare for the Reform of the Federation Green Paper, was published online after several chapters were leaked to the media. The Green Paper is yet to be finalised and is intended to be released later in 2015 after further discussions with the States and Territories (Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. 23 June 2015).

Follow The Conversation's Renewing Federalism series featuring discussion by Australian academics.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia comprises a narrative statement of the law of Australia covering virtually every subject area and all nine jurisdictions.