Law

Web-based public accessible sources via GlobaLex.

Includes the United States Constitution, the Congress, the Courts and more.

The materials used for legal research are generally divided into two broad categories: primary sources and secondary sources. Primary sources are laws, orders, decisions, or regulations issued by a governmental entity or official, such as a court, legislature, or executive agency; the President; or a state governor. Secondary sources offer analysis, commentary, or a restatement of primary law and are used to help locate and explain primary sources of law. Secondary sources may influence a legal decision but do not have the controlling or binding authority of primary sources (Library of Congress).

The Avalon Project is a collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of law (in particular international law and human rights), history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government in the United States of America.

Provides an overview of the U.S. legal system, Federal and State law and lists research sources including research strategy.

Provides free online access to official US government publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information.

The site helps ordinary citizens find and track bills in the U.S. Congress and understand their representatives’ legislative record.

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States, prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.

US Primary, Federal and State legislation.

Contains official opinions from 1991 - present. See 'Bound Volumes' link for older decisions.

Federal Appellate Court Decisions. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004. Some courts may be incomplete for this earlier time period.

The Federal Courts Web Archive provides unique resources for scholars and others conducting retrospective research into the work of the federal judiciary. This collection includes the websites of the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Courts of Appeals, U.S. District Courts, and U.S. Bankruptcy Courts. This collection also includes the sites of the federal judiciary’s specialty courts, including the U.S. Court of Federal Claims, U.S. Court of International Trade, U.S. Tax Court, U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, and U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces. These sites contain a wide variety of resources prepared by federal courts, such as: slip opinions, transcripts, dockets, court rules, calendars, announcements, judicial biographies, statistics, educational resources, and reference materials.

About US case law and links to US cases.

Harvard's Caselaw Access Project has made all published U.S. court decisions freely available to the public online, in a consistent format, digitized from the collection of the Harvard Law Library. Cases and their associated metadata can be accessed two ways: Caselaw's API, and bulk downloads.

Provides coverage of all fields of American law – state and federal, civil and criminal, substantive and procedural. The articles collect, examine, and summarize the broad principles of American law. Am Jur is also available via Lexis.com

United States national legal encyclopedia covers all state and federal legal topics. Also provides concise legal analysis with exhaustive case citations, and can be used as a case finder. CJS is also available via Lexis.com.

Restatements of the Law, containing clear formulations of common law and its statutory elements or variations, reflect the law as it presently stands or might plausibly be stated by a court. Legal Express is an email alert that users subscribe to themselves to receive updates on legislation. It is customisable for specific practice areas.

American Indian Law Deskbook is a concise, direct, and easy-to-understand handbook on Indian law. To access the Handbook, type American Indian Law Deskbook into the Search box and click on the title in the drop down menu.